Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 Ballon d’Or Over Lionel Messi

Photo via:

The Portuguese forward ousted Lionel Messi to win the Ballon d’Or, the most prestigious award in football. This marks the fourth time Ronaldo has won the award, and only trailing one behind Lionel Messi.

Ronaldo has scored 19 goals this season, between both club and international play, as well as the 54 last season, for a total of 73 goals this year. For the past eight years it has been either Messi or Cristiano winning the award, with Ronaldo starting in 2008, and Messi winning it just last year.

Messi finished second, and Antoine Griezmann made an appearance in 3rd, after an impressive showing for club and country this season. Messi’s teammates, Suarez and Neymar, finished fourth and fifth respectively, and Ronaldo’s teammate, Bale, finished sixth.

Jamie Vardy, the only English player on the 30 man shortlist, finished eighth, with an extraordinary season last year. His teammate, Riyad Mahrez, came in seventh.

Some other highlights included Pepe finishing in 10th, whilst Zlatan Ibrahimovic finished 12th, and his new teammate, Pogba, finished 14th.

There were quite a few shockers in the results, including Pepe’s high-ranking, and Zlatan and Pogba’s lower rankings.

While the Ballon d’Or is considered the most prestigious award in all of football, FIFA will be giving out their awards for best male player, best female player, and best team on January 9th in Zurich.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s