Chip Ganassi Racing Switches to Honda Engines for 2017 Season

Photo Credit: IndyCar

Chip Ganassi Racing has confirmed that they will go back to running Honda-powered cars for their IndyCar team in the 2017 season after running Chevrolet-powered cars over the past three seasons.

Even after the addition of the Chevrolet engines in 2012, the drivers of Chip Ganassi Racing spent two seasons driving Honda-powered cars. In 2013, the team’s Scott Dixon even won the series championship. The team has won a total of nine championships in IndyCar running Honda-powered cars. However, in 2014, the team switched to Chevrolet. Dixon then went on to win the 2015 series championship driving a Chevrolet-powered car, proving that he can be competitive in the series regardless of his  car’s engine manufacturer.

The team’s other current drivers are Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball, and Max Chilton, and that would appear to be the team’s lineup for next season as well unless something changes. Neither Kanaan nor Chilton have driven in Honda-powered cars following the addition of Chevrolet in 2012.

Since Chevrolet rejoined the series in 2012, drivers of the Chevrolet-powered cars have won 57 races compared to the 27 victories posted by the drivers of the Honda-powered cars. This past season, the drivers of the Chevrolet-powered cars won all but two of the series’ 16 races. Drivers of the Chevrolet-powered cars have had a pretty clear overall advantage since rejoining the series having been the engine manufacturer of the IndyCar champion in four out of five seasons and winning more races than the drivers of the Honda-powered cars did each season.

-Asher Fair