Key Events that have Happened Since Marco Andretti’s Last IndyCar Victory

Photo Credit: Cheatsheet

With another IndyCar Series season in the books, Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti has still not won a race since winning the 2011 Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa on the night of Saturday, June 25th, 2011. Let’s have a look at some of the major events, both sporting and non-sporting (mostly sports), that have happened since Marco’s last victory.

2011- 2015 NFL MVP Cam Newton, quarterback of the Carolina Panthers, made his NFL debut.

2011- Dan Wheldon was killed in IndyCar Crash at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

2011-2012- TebowMania begins and ends in the NFL.

2012- Legendary NBA player LeBron James finally wins his first NBA Finals championship.

2012- The DW12 IndyCar chassis was debuted.

2012- Americans are killed in Benghazi after their calls for help were ignored, an issue that is still argued about to this day in regards to Hillary Clinton’s involvement.

2012- Peyton Manning joins the Denver Broncos.

2012- Democrat President Barack Obama was reelected over Republican nominee Mitt Romney.

2013- Boston Marathon bombings occur.

2013- Black Lives Matter is founded.

2014- LeBron James returns to the Cleveland Cavaliers.

2015- Justin Wilson was killed in IndyCar crash at Pocono Raceway.

2015- The NCAA holds its first College Football Playoff.

2015- The New England Patriots get caught cheating again in “DeflateGate”.

2016- SportsPress is founded.

2016- Bryan Clauson was killed in a sprint car crash.

2016- Protests of the National Anthem of the United States become commonplace.

2016- TebowMania revs up again in MLB form.


Other (Multi-Date Events)

IndyCar- 92 race have been completed.

IndyCar- Five different drivers have been crowned Indianapolis 500 champions: Dario Franchitti in 2012, Tony Kanaan in 2013, Ryan Hunter-Reay in 2014, Juan Pablo Montoya in 2015, and Alexander Rossi in 2016.

IndyCar- Six seasons have been completed, with the championship going to the following drivers: Dario Franchitti in 2011, Ryan Hunter-Reay in 2012, Scott Dixon in 2013 and 2015, Will Power in 2014, and Simon Pagenaud in 2016.

MLB- Five World Series have been played, won by the following teams: the St. Louis Cardinals in 2011, the San Francisco Giants in 2012, the Boston Red Sox in 2013, the San Francisco Giants in 2014, and the Kansas City Royals in 2015.

NBA- Five NBA Finals have been played, won by the following teams: the Miami Heat in 2012 and 2013, the San Antonio Spurs in 2014, the Golden State Warriors in 2015, and the Cleveland Cavaliers in 2016.

NCAA Football- Five NCAA Football Championship games have been played, won by the following teams: the Alabama Crimson Tide in 2012, 2013, and 2016, the Florida State Seminoles in 2014, and the Ohio State Buckeyes in 2015.

NCAA Basketball- Five different NCAA Basketball teams have been crowed champions: the Kentucky Wildcats in 2012, the Louisville Cardinals in 2013, the Connecticut Huskies in 2014, the Duke Blue Devils in 2015, and the Villanova Wildcats in 2016.

NFL- Five different teams have been crowned Super Bowl champions: the New York Giants in 2012, the Baltimore Ravens in 2013, the Seattle Seahawks in 2014, the New England Patriots in 2015, and the Denver Broncos in 2016.

NHL- Five Stanley Cup Finals have been played, won by the following teams: the Los Angeles Kings in 2012 and 2014, the Chicago Blackhawks in 2013 and 2015, and the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2016.

There are many, many, many more things that have happened not only in the sports world but all over the world since Marco Andretti’s last victory over 5 years ago. I have only covered some of the more memorable and important ones, which is not to say that if I did not include it, it is not important. Some of these things are good, while some are bad. Maybe 2017 will be the season when Andretti wipes this article clean by winning a race and we can start all over.

-Asher Fair


One thought on “Key Events that have Happened Since Marco Andretti’s Last IndyCar Victory

Comments are closed.