Active Win Droughts Among Current Full-Time IndyCar Drivers Heading into the 2017 Season

Photo Credit: IndyCar

As the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season is now complete, it is only fitting to once again show the active winning droughts about active full-time IndyCar drivers (as of Tuesday, September 20th, 2016) to see who needs a victory the most during the 2017 IndyCar season, which will begin on Sunday, March 12th, 2017, on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida.

Drivers who have never won an IndyCar race (number of races that the driver has raced in):

  1. Jack Hawksworth (49 races)
  2. Mikhail Aleshin (34 races)
  3. Conor Daly (22 races)
  4. Max Chilton (16 races)

Drivers who have won an IndyCar race (number of races that the driver has raced in since their latest win with the last venue at which they won a race and the season during which that win occurred):

  1. Marco Andretti* (92 races- 2011 Iowa (see featured image))
  2. Takuma Sato (66 races- 2013 Long Beach)
  3. Charlie Kimball (55 races- 2013 Mid-Ohio)
  4. Helio Castroneves (43 races- 2014 Detroit)
  5. Tony Kanaan (32 races- 2014 Fontana)
  6. Carlos Munoz (25 races- 2015 Detroit)
  7. James Hinchcliffe (19 races- 2015 New Orleans)
  8. Ryan Hunter-Reay (17 races- 2015 Pocono)
  9. Juan Pablo Montoya (15 races- 2016 St. Petersburg)
  10. Alexander Rossi (10 races- 2016 Indianapolis 500)
  11. Sebastien Bourdais (9 races- 2016 Detroit)
  12. Josef Newgarden (6 races- 2016 Iowa)
  13. Will Power (3 races- 2016 Pocono)
  14. Graham Rahal (2 race- 2016 Texas)
  15. Scott Dixon (1 race- 2016 Watkins Glen)
  16. Simon Pagenaud (0 races- 2016 Sonoma)

*Las Vegas race in 2011 not included due to the fact that it was canceled after Dan Wheldon was killed in a 15-car wreck on lap 11 during the race.

Of note: Graham Rahal went 124 races without a victory from 2008-2015 since winning at St. Petersburg in 2008. He then won at Fontana in 2015 for his 1st of 2 victories over a 4-race span; Marco Andretti went 77 races dating back to 2006 Sonoma without a win before winning at Iowa in 2011.

-Asher Fair