Power Wins at Road America for 2nd Straight Series Win

Photo Credit: IndyCar

Team Penske Racing’s Will Power, who drives a Chevrolet-powered car, took the checkered flag at the Verizon IndyCar Series race after 50 circuits around the 14-turn 4.048-mile Road America natural terrain road course in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin. He won the race by .7429 seconds ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan, who also drives a Chevrolet-powered car. Power also won the latest IndyCar race (not including the suspended Texas race) on the streets of Belle Isle back on Sunday, June 5th.

Power is not the 1st driver to win consecutive races this season; in fact, his teammate, Simon Pagenaud, the championship point leader, won 3 consecutive races earlier on in the season at Long Beach, Barber, and the Grand Prix of Indianapolis, respectively.

Graham Rahal and Ryan Hunter-Reay, both driving Honda-powered cars, finished in 3rd and 4th place, respectively, and Helio Castroneves finished in 5th place despite not relinquishing a spot to Charlie Kimball, who finished in 6th place. Castroneves was ordered to let Kimball pass him towards the end of the race due to a blocking incident, but Hunter-Reay had gotten around Kimball, so Hunter-Reay ended up being the driver to pass Castroneves. Drivers of the Chevrolet-powered cars took the top 7 of the top 9 spots in the finishing order.

Josef Newgarden, who was cleared to race in this weekend’s race after sustaining injuries in a crash at Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday, June 12th, started 20th and finished 8th in a Chevrolet-powered car in today’s race. He was the biggest mover in today’s race, moving up 12 spots.

Championship leader Simon Pagenaud finished in 13th after having issues late in the race and falling from 2nd to 13th place over the course of the final 6 laps of the race. Scott Dixon, who was 2nd in the championship standings coming into the race, had issues early on in the race that put him out, forcing him to finish in dead last in 22nd place.

The lone caution of the race came out on lap 40/50, when the suspension on Conor Daly’s Honda-powered car broke going into turn 1, causing Daly to spin out and hit the tire barrier. He had been running in the top 9 all day long up until the wreck, but finished in 21st place because of it.

The race featured 4 lead changes among 3 leaders, with Power leading 46 of the race’s 50 laps. You can see full race results at Indycar.com.

The next race in the Verizon IndyCar Series will be held on Sunday, July 10th, at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa at 5:00 PM ET, and it will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network. The race will be the 10th out of a scheduled 16 races this season, as the championship chase is starting to really heat up.

Race ranking out of races I’ve watched: 47/101

-Asher Fair