Munoz Charges to Firestone 600 Pole

Photo Credit:

After a 31-race pole drought for drivers of Honda-powered cars, those drivers have now claimed 2 of the last 4 poles in the Verizon IndyCar Series, and the past 2 poles on high-speed oval tracks.

Andretti Autosport’s Carlos Munoz drove a 2-lap average of 217.137 miles per hour around the 24-degree-banked 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway oval in Fort Worth, Texas en route to his 1st career series pole. The pole position belongs to an Andretti Autosport for the 1st time since the 2014 Long Beach Grand Prix, when Ryan Hunter-Reay started on pole, which was over 2 years ago and was 41 races ago.

Drivers of Chevrolet-powered cars, despite not taking the pole position, will roll of in 6 of the top 8 spots, with the highest one rolling off 2nd, driven by Scott Dixon, last year’s Firestone 600 winner. Helio Castroneves, Takuma Sato, and Josef Newgarden will round out the top 5 starting positions.

Simon Pagenaud, the series championship leader, will roll of in the 6th spot. Will Power, who had taken the last 3 poles for the Firestone 600, will start in 7th. You can view full qualifying results and the starting grid for the race here: 2016 Firestone 600 Qualifying Results and Starting Grid.

Qualifying for the Firestone 600 will be broadcast on a delay at 6:00 PM ET on NBC Sports Network. Another practice session will take place tonight starting at 7:45 PM ET. The Firestone 600 itself will be broadcast starting at 8:00 PM ET tomorrow, Saturday, June 11th, also on NBCSN.

-Asher Fair