Power Tops 3rd Indy GP Practice

Photo Credit: thecheckeredflag.co.uk

Team Penske’s Australian driver Will Power seems to be still picking up where he left off a year ago at the Grand Prix of Indianapolis. He was quickest in this morning’s practice session with a lap time of 69.3189 seconds around the 2.44-mile road course on the interior of the famous Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Power’s last victory in the Verizon Indycar Series came 1 year ago at the Grand Prix of Indianapolis, when he held off Graham Rahal in the closing laps of the race. Power took the pole for that race en route to his lone victory of 2015, and has yet to win a race since that race.

Juan Pablo Montoya was 2nd quickest in this morning’s practice session. Team Penske took the top 3 spots of the session, with Simon Pagenaud turning the 3rd fastest tap time of the session. Scott Dixon was 4th quickest driver during the session.

The fastest driver of a Honda-powered car in this morning’s session was Takuma Sato, who was 5th quickest. Honda also took the 6th, 7th, and 8th fastest spots with Ryan Hunter-Reay, Graham Rahal, and Carlos Munoz, respectively.

The best lap times of Will Power, who was the fastest driver of the session, and Alex Tagliani, who was slowest in 25th place, were separated by less than 1.1 seconds.

Qualifications for the race are today, May 13th at 3:00 PM ET, and the race itself is at 3:30 PM ET on Saturday, May 14th, on ABC. There is 1 more practice session for the race, and it is between qualifying and the race itself.

-Asher Fair